Wednesday, August 26, 2009

Fuentes Georginas

July 9th

A day out!

We ride 18kms out of Xela with Anna and Ali to some hot springs at 'Fuentes Georginas'. It's a stunning ride south of the city to Zunil and then up a steep track to a volcanically heated natural pool. I'm really excited - it's my first bath since Klamath in Northern California....

Volcanic soil is highly fertile and coupled with the almost daily rain storms during the wet season, it's prime growing land.

We climb the side of a steep valley and look down on a child's drawing - patchwork fields and a picture book perfect 'U' shaped canyon. Puffy clouds and swirling mists lend drama to the scene....


Fuentes Georginas!

Picture dense undergrowth - fern leaves straight out of a dinosaur movie; giant trees dripping in the humidity.


Set in the rock wall is a natural hollow. Water dribbles from hidden springs, lava-heated to a comfortable bath-tub temperature. Cool rain spatters the pool that forms, green from minerals and dimly reflecting the emerald vegetation. There's a strong smell of sulphur in the thick air and a dense layer of condensation forms from the heat.

We are early and this secluded grotto belongs to us alone....


Susy is a happy bunny....


And why not - this is the life!!!


It's wonderful. A little eden of perfectly formed nature.

But it cannot last, and in time, others arrive - breaking the spell of this magical place.

It's OK though, they bring food and are more than happy to welcome us to their beautiful country with tacos and cold, fresh coconut juice. Their hospitality and friendliness is amazing.

But this mineral heavy water is slowly turning my skin to smush and I am wrinkled and look like I've aged a thousand years when we at last drag ourselves away. We feel incredible though and the waters are alledged to have healing properties - a claim that is easy to believe as my previously squeaky knees now glide and slide like a slippy slidey thing.

The rain eases up and the other side of the valley becomes visible as 3 tiny cyclists roll past crop laden fields.....


Up close, they are vivid and busting with ripeness (the crops - not the cyclists)....

A sample....


The descent is a screamer - a zooming series of zig-zags made slippy and exilerating by the rain....


Every country should have a 'Fuentes Georginas' and I'm applying for planning permission for one in Manchester....

5 comments:

lin liyi said...

Iodine represents a vital purpose from the output connected with thyroid growth hormones, and so hublot replica is usually vital a great specific having hypothyroidism to enhance the iodine daily allowance as a result of health places. There may be many primary do the job in addition to investment decision interested in almost any lawn, although possibly be particularly uncomplicated in addition to very little rado replica uk or maybe investment decision. You possibly can buy building a compact spot and have absolutely the item landscaped to make a wonderful lawn lawn, or maybe acquire some substantial fake hermes and have absolutely these individuals fixed suitable away from ones returning home intended for easy access. Additionaly significant in relation to ones kitchen's lawn is usually what exactly you choosed to mature. Degrees of swiss rado replica which might be loaded with iodine usually are beach produce, Europe chard, garlic herb, mushrooms in addition to summer months squash. It truly will not likely help you decrease from the louis vuitton replica sale team currently being the main city extremely team cooking acclaimed places on the globe.

Libin Huang said...

michael kors bags
prada outlet
jordan shoes 2015
hermes outlet
michael kors handbags
michael kors outlet
lebron james shoes
cheap jordans
michael kors factory store
michael kors handbags clearance
links of london jewellery
beats by dre
lacoste pas cher
toms shoes
fitflop clearance
longchamp handbags
air jordan 13
cheap nfl jerseys
michael kors outlet
tods shoes
toms outlet
cheap nfl jersey
nike air max uk
swarovski outlet
louis vuitton outlet
swarovski outlet
ray-ban sunglasses
jordan shoes
juicy couture outlet
calvin klein underwear
kobe shoes
cheap jordans
cheap snapbacks
louis vuitton outlet store
new balance shoes

Chenzhen 20160303chenzhen said...

polo ralph lauren men
mont blanc pens outlet
air max 90
cheap nfl jerseys
adidas gazelle
toms outlet
gucci outlet online
ray ban sunglasses outlet
cheap ray bans
adidas superstars
michael kors outlet store
polo ralph lauren
cheap oakley sunglasses
ecco outlet
ray ban outlet store
louis vuitton outlet online
christian louboutin outlet
gucci borse
hollister kids
michael kors outlet
converse sale
puma outlet
abercrombie & fitch
prada sunglasses wholesale
jimmy choo
fitflops shoes
michael kors outlet canada
michael kors bags
michael kors outlet
coach factory outlet
ferragamo
true religion uk
air max 90
michael kors outlet online
new balance shoes
michael kors handbags
michael kors outlet online
yeezy boost 350
hollister clothing store
ray ban sunglasses outlet
chenzhen2016618

Gege Dai said...

tods shoes sale
cheap nba jerseys
abercrombie and fitch
michael kors handbags
rolex uk
air max 90
beats by dre
rolex watches
michael kors handbags clearance
ralph lauren uk
coach outlet online
fitflops uk
air jordan 13
louis vuitton outlet store
coach outlet
ralph lauren polo shirts
valentino shoes
louis vuitton outlet
oakley sunglasses
new balance outlet
tory burch outlet
burberry outlet
michael kors handbags
air force 1 shoes
michael kors outlet
cazal sunglasses
nike store uk
ferragamo shoes
tiffany jewelry
cheap uggs
hollister canada
ugg boots clearance,ugg australia,uggs on sale,ugg slippers,uggs boots,uggs outlet,ugg boots,ugg,uggs
louis vuitton pas cher
oakley sunglasses
tiffany outlet
michael kors handbags
ray-ban sunglasses
0805jianxiang

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com