Monday, July 13, 2009

The Sumidero Gorge

June 16th to 18th 2009

The climb off the coastal plain is a cracker. The road meanders it's lazy zig-zag way up the mountainside for 30kms for around 1500m of height gained. Both the temperature and the buzz of insects slowly recede, which are both welcome changes.

The plains just teemed with any number of nasty little bitey things and they obviously had a twisted sense of humour, taking direct aim on my nether regions. An unwelcome souvenir of their attention is the swollen red ring of itchiness I now have in the exact shape of a bicycle saddle. Cycling has become an uncomfortable fidgety, squirming search for a comfy spot.

The terrain starts to look a little like the rolling hills of mid Wales and Sue, a taff gets a little home sick as we climb. The land looks like it has been draped in velvet and we sing (badly) the Tom Jones classic "The green green grass of home"....


More scenes from a pastoral Shangri-La....


It's like stepping back in time to an England before it was concreted over and turned to a stone and steel jungle....


After the grueler of a climb, the land calms down again and sets about rolling merrily towards the next set of peaks....


Even the flutterbyes take a breather....


But the concrete jungle is here too and we stop in Tuxtla Gutierrez, an ugly traffic choked city of half a million which is stark contrast to the ride. The next day, we roll to Tuxtlas better looking sister city of Chiapa de Corzo just 10 miles away. This is the launch pad for river trips along the mightly Sumidero Gorge and we've got a boat booked!

Blasting noisily up the emerald green waters of the Grijalva River, we are suddenly dwarfed by sheer walls of rock a thousand metres high to either side. It feels like a trip down the the great river taken directly from The Lord of The Rings. We feel about the size of hobbits as we adjust to this new scale and crane our necks to see clouds fall off the tops of sheer cliffs...


Even the howler monkeys seem to be measuring the walls of their home....


Giant waterfalls - rendered miniature in proportion to the drop, deposit calcium ledges which are colonised by huge new growth. From a distance the effect resembles the oversize Christmas Tree of a colossus....


Everywhere is life. In nooks and crannies a million bats roost and snooze waiting for the coming dusk....


We see crocodiles sunning themselves on the river banks, statue like and unmoving, their massive jaws open and ominous.

On a rock; what looks like mud turns out to be the next generation - hundreds and hundreds of them - each of these 6 inch minnows destined to grow into fully fledged 12 foot horrors....


It's an incredible and impressive natural habitat.

6 comments:

Anonymous said...

Keep posting stuff like this i really like it

Hyabe Ibbe said...

8north face jackets for kids
hermes birkin bag
abercrombie & fitch
christian louboutin shoes
retro jordans
coach handbags
new balance outlet
michael kors outlet online
hollister.com
prada sunglasses
canada goose discount
coach factory online
north face jackets
chanel handbags
north face outlet
converse sale
columbia outlet store
the north face jackets
jordan shoes
coach purses outlet
nike factory
gucci sunglasses
mbt shoes clearance outlet
burberry scarf sale
ray ban sunglasses outlet
air jordan 14
nike outlet store
lebron james shoes 2015
fitflops clearance
coach purses outlet
rolex watches prices
puma clearance outlet
under armour clearance
kobe bryant shoes
the north face outlet
coach handbags
coach bags
fitflops sale
air max
cheap rolex watches
north face coats for women
fendi sale
cheap jordans
fendi bags
20150921hxt

艾丰 said...

jianbin0618
mulberry bags
cheap oakley sunglasses
michael kors outlet
longchamp outlet
polo ralph lauren
longchamp handbags
mulberry handbags sale
cazal sunglasses
michael kors outlet
louis vuitton pas cher
louis vuitton outlet
michael kors online
gucci sunglasses
longchamp outlet
adidas outlet
mulberry uk
polo ralph lauren
polo ralph lauren
babyliss pro
louis vuitton bags
michael kors outlet online
mont blanc outlet
prada handbags
louboutin pas cher
cheap mlb jerseys
celine outlet
ray ban sunglasses
toms outlet
true religion outlet
true religion jeans
longchamp handbags
reebok shoes
coach outlet
adidas uk store

Chenzhen 20160303chenzhen said...

yeezy boost
burberry outlet canada
tiffany and co outlet
christian louboutin uk
instyler max
louis vuitton bags
asics gel kayano
michael kors outlet online
michael kors outlet online
oakley sunglasses
pandora jewelry outlet
michael kors outlet online
canada goose jackets
timberland boots outlet
ghd hair dryer
adidas shoes
hollister clothing
louis vuitton pas cher
oakley sunglasses outlet
nike huarache
adidas superstar white
hermes outlet
tiffany jewelry outlet
coach outlet online
abercrombie outlet
omega
black timberland boots
nike running shoes
armani exchange
michael kors outlet online
ray ban outlet
coach outlet online
kate spade uk
north face outlet
nike tn pas cher
nike huarache black
versace sunglasses
kobe bryant shoes
nike blazer
stan smith adidas
chenzhen2016618

Gege Dai said...

tods shoes sale
cheap nba jerseys
abercrombie and fitch
michael kors handbags
rolex uk
air max 90
beats by dre
rolex watches
michael kors handbags clearance
ralph lauren uk
coach outlet online
fitflops uk
air jordan 13
louis vuitton outlet store
coach outlet
ralph lauren polo shirts
valentino shoes
louis vuitton outlet
oakley sunglasses
new balance outlet
tory burch outlet
burberry outlet
michael kors handbags
air force 1 shoes
michael kors outlet
cazal sunglasses
nike store uk
ferragamo shoes
tiffany jewelry
cheap uggs
hollister canada
ugg boots clearance,ugg australia,uggs on sale,ugg slippers,uggs boots,uggs outlet,ugg boots,ugg,uggs
louis vuitton pas cher
oakley sunglasses
tiffany outlet
michael kors handbags
ray-ban sunglasses
0805jianxiang

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com