Monday, July 27, 2009

San Christobal de las Casas

June 21st to 26th

Nestled in a dip in the mountains is the Joval valley which is the beautiful setting for the cobbled stone streets of San Christobal del Casas. Replete with impressive old colonial buildings it's a pretty place to spend a few days surrounded by the pine covered ring of mountains. A typical street scene....


Despite the Spanish architecture, the streets ring to the tune of Mayan dialects - 'Quiche' is widely spoken here. Locals wear traditional Mayan dress of black sheep skin skirt and colourful tops as they hawk their wares in front of the cathedral....


San Christobal briefly stared on the world stage in 1994 when masked 'Zapatista' rebels took over the city. Apologising to tourists for any inconvenience caused, they calmly announced 'this is a revolution'. Rather than trying to topple the Mexican government, they fought to close military bases set up in the area, free prisoners and to enforce previous accords granting control of land rights to the Maya. In 1994 the government acquiesced, but land control has still not been granted to this day. The movement lives on despite media attention moving on, and parents buy zapatists dolls for their children in support....



The Mayan Medicine Museum has displays of herbs and candles used in traditional medicine over the centuries. There is a graphic video showing birthing techniques where a woman kneels before her husband with the midwife taking the catch behind. Oh how England would benefit from such a safe pair of hands in the current Ashes series.

Rituals are carried out to ensure safe delivery including passing an ominous looking, rusty old axe over the abdomen. This gentle symbolism apparently disuades the baby from needing a cesarean....


In a 16th century convent building there is a museum of local history depicting land use over the last 500 hundred years and the mix of tribes occupying this area before the Spanish. There are many distinct tribes, each with their own separate language. This is one of the major factors that helped the Spanish to invade so successfully with so small a force. Many tribes were at war with each other and some even aided the Spanish to defeat their enemies before being turned upon themselves. Other tribes could not unite due to the lack of common language. Taking account of language problems, this catechism shows spanish bible texts translated into 'Quiche', but also makes use of pictograms. It was used to convert the conquered Mayans to the new religion....


Outside the museum is a local 'artisans' market selling everything artisanal, including hand made Mayan clothing. In a system akin to Scottish tartan, tribes identify with a traditional style of weave and each has their own unique design. This is of the gringo tourist tribe....


There are flower markets with impressive, if slightly surreal displays....


The fruit here is incredibly fresh, juicy and abundant. There's even a delivery service....


Either side of the city centre is a hill, and each is a high perch for a church building, 'Iglesias' San Christobal and Guadalupe. God it seems, hears those closest to him. Brief climbs are rewarded with ordinary churches and extraordinary views of city and mountainscape.


We are again beset by another dose of the lurgy and Sue's world shrinks to a 4 metre radius around the bathroom. A 3 day stay turns into 6 and takeaway pizza becomes the staple diet. Outside the rainy season begins to tighten it's grip, and late afternoon heralds a ferocious deluge accompanied by awesome displays of lightning.

4 comments:

阿童木 said...

Today's apple is spinning at the replica watches uk acceleration of ablaze and it seems infiltrated by deadlines on top of deadlines. In this anarchic ambiance the watch is absolutely in demand! For some their time section is even calmness at moments. There are arrangement to accept from in abounding styles and personalities. Aloft that there are a amount of brands with ample capricious amount ranges. Abounding do accept a few watches for altered occasions, generally analytic priced. Admitting there are aswell those enthusiasts who avidly aggregate abounding watches and generally they are absolutely cher as well. It all began at a Paris jewellery branch run by Adept Adolphe Picard. In 1847 if Picard anesthetized away, Louis-Francios Cartier took over afterwards his master. It became a ancestors business and affiliated through to the next century. Louis-Francios's son Alfred Cartier was circuitous in 1904 if he abutting minds with allegorical watchmaker Edmond Jaeger to accomplish the aboriginal Cartier watch to be exhausted by pilot Santos-Dumont if flying. Today the replica rolex name Cartier has maintained authority for about 160 years and alone associated with quality, elegance, and performance! If it comes to the Cartier watch, alone the best is used. The accomplished cast jewellery and alone the a lot of absolute automated functionality are activated with the accomplished standards as annihilation beneath will do.Among the alternative you will aswell see the college end Cartier watch alternative including abounding adored metal bands of gold and platinum. Taking affliction in authentic alternative of these will amount you a bundle, but should go down in your ancestors history well. The ultimate would accept to be the Cartier D'art bound copy models. In this band you will acquisition the Cartier watch of all Cartier alignment from fractional to complete architecture accoutrement and the Cartier signature: the panther.If you accept any catechism for purchasing replica watches,the administrative ambience absurd in Jonson's play that Pope could not envisage, although his announcement does accept Curll acquaint Pemberton about an approaching case for publishing Rochester's poems. Admitting his loyal credentials, Curll's bartering absorption in the accursed Jacobite had put him in the position of an base and accusable criminal, affected to abjure in one of the uk replica watches accomplished accessible courts alone a few weeks afterwards Pope had fabricated him abjure in his bedroom.

chenlina said...

louis vuitton bags
hogan scarpe
uggs pas cher
oakley sunglasses outlet
michael kors handbags
louis vuitton outlet
ugg boots
kevin durant shoes
michael kors outlet clearance
adidas ultra boost
ugg boots paris
coach outlet
coach outlet store online
new england patriots jerseys
michael kors handbags
air jordan pas cher
ugg boot uk
jordan shoes
mont blanc pens
christian louboutin sale
toms shoes
ralph lauren uk
fitflops
true religion outlet
louis vuitton borse
polo ralph lauren
ugg uk
toms shoes
michael kors handbags
ralph lauren
jordan 11
adidas shoes
gucci handbags
coach outlet store online
coach outlet
ugg uk
cheap jordans
uggs outlet
louis vuitton handbags
cheap ray ban sunglasses
chenlina20160831

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

chenmeinv0 said...

thibaut courtois jersey
coach outlet store online
occhiali da sole ray ban
ralph lauren italia
coach outlet online
coach purses
north face jackets
oakley sunglasses outlet
under armour shoes
burberry sale
hzx20170616