Sunday, June 28, 2009

Oaxaca 2 - Regional Museum

May 6th to 9th June

The Regional Museum in Oaxaca is housed in the beautiful Santa Domingo complex of buildings.....


Building work was originally started in 1572 by the Dominican Order and took over 200 years to complete. The monastery saw monks until 1857, then soldiers during the revolutionary years from the 1860's to the 1930's when the monastery was converted to barracks. Then students arrived when Oaxaca University claimed the buildings. Finally, the students were booted out to make way for treasure taken from the tombs of nearby Monte Alban when the old monastery became a museum in 1972.

The building now houses a fine collection of Zapotec art and treasure used to decorate the tombs of the dead to ensure a head start in the afterlife. The most famous piece is this human skull mosaic from "Tomb 7"....


The Zapotecs traded over vast areas and were fine craftsmen. This ivory carving depicts eagle, jaguars and men in ornate headress and is exquisitely detailed....


Stone carved figurines....


There are quartz crystal goblets so fine they are translucent and large collections of jade jewelery....


Gold jewelery with incredibly fine filigree work from around 500AD


Behind the monastery building is a large botanical garden with collections of native Mexican plant life....



Dominated by about a million types of cactus.....



6 comments:

Jordans Nike said...

cheap jordans, cheap jordan, jordan shoes for cheap, ugg australia, ugg, wholesale jordan shoes, Cheap LV Handbags, uggs on sale, Bags Louis Vuitton, ugg pas cher, ugg soldes, wholesale jordan shoes, Cheap jordans, cheap jordans, Cheap Nike jordan shoes, Discount Louis Vuitton, air jordan shoes, cheap nike jordan shoes, discount nike jordans, Discount LV Handbags, Cheap Louis Vuitton Handbags, uggs outlet, cheap jordan shoes, wholesale jordan shoes for sale, ugg boots

jjs lin said...

ray ban aviators
true religion outlet
true religion jeans
true religion sale
true religion jeans sale
true religion jeans outlet
true religion outlet store
beats headphones
beats solo
beats studio
cheap beats by dre
monster beats outlet
monster headphones
monster beats by dr dre
monster beats
kate spade outlet
kate spade handbags
kate spade outletonline
kate spade outletstore
kate spade factoryoutlet
chanel handbags
chanel bags
chanel outlet
chanel outlet online
chanel 2.55
burberry outlet
burberry handbags
burberry outlet online
burberry factory outlet
burberry outlet store

Wenhao Guo said...

ZD0721
san antonio spurs jerseys
the north face jackets
nike running shoes
mizuno running
spurs jersey
canada goose outlet
oakland raiders jerseys
tommy hilfiger outlet store
derrick rose jersey
raiders jerseys
north face jackets
blake griffin jersey
chelsea soccer jersey
cheap jordans
ugg boots
the north face outlet
kobe bryant shoes
chanel handbags
denver broncos jerseys

Gege Dai said...

tods shoes sale
cheap nba jerseys
abercrombie and fitch
michael kors handbags
rolex uk
air max 90
beats by dre
rolex watches
michael kors handbags clearance
ralph lauren uk
coach outlet online
fitflops uk
air jordan 13
louis vuitton outlet store
coach outlet
ralph lauren polo shirts
valentino shoes
louis vuitton outlet
oakley sunglasses
new balance outlet
tory burch outlet
burberry outlet
michael kors handbags
air force 1 shoes
michael kors outlet
cazal sunglasses
nike store uk
ferragamo shoes
tiffany jewelry
cheap uggs
hollister canada
ugg boots clearance,ugg australia,uggs on sale,ugg slippers,uggs boots,uggs outlet,ugg boots,ugg,uggs
louis vuitton pas cher
oakley sunglasses
tiffany outlet
michael kors handbags
ray-ban sunglasses
0805jianxiang

chenlina said...

air jordans
canada goose outlet
coach outlet store online clearances
cheap ray ban sunglasses
coach outlet
michael kors outlet
vans shoes
ugg boots
louis vuitton
ugg boots
christian louboutin
jordan retro
abercrombie and fitch
ralph lauren polo
gucci handbags
michael kors handbags
red bottom shoes
burberry outlet
ugg uk
jordans for sale
uggs canada
adidas nmd
ray ban sunglasses
adidas yeezy
true religion outlet
tory burch sale
lebron james shoes
replica watches for sale
coach factory outlet
insanity workout
ray ban sunglasses outlet
dallas mavericks jerseys
true religion
christian louboutin shoes
true religion outlet
michael kors handbags
polo ralph shirts
kate spade handbags
ugg boots uk
celine handbags
chenlina20160831

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com